News Update 09/13/2008




A Vetted Dream: Sebastian’s stampede in the final qualifying for Sunday’s Italian Grand Prix at Monza has made the Toro Rosso driver the youngest pole sitter in the history of Formula 1. In only his 22nd. Grand Prix weekend, the 21-years and 73-days old from Heppenheim, Germany, dethrones Fernando Alonso, the previous youngest pole winner at Sepang for the 2003 Malaysian Grand Prix.

"I was joking with my engineers that if it was wet we have to go for pole. I dreamed of being on pole. There are two Italian teams, most people know of the big one, but now people know of the smaller one too – Scuderia Toro Rosso." said the youngster in post qualifying press conference.
Sharing the front row with Vettel will be Heikki Kovalainen for McLaren. The team made a slippery decision for the championship leader Lewis Hamilton by sending him out on intermediate tires in Q2. His chances to move into Q3 were drowned when more rain started to fall. He will start 15th. while title challenger Felipe Massa was the highest placed Ferrari driver in 6th. position. Raikkonen will start 14.
The second Toro Rosso of Sebastien Bourdais looked set for P3 in qualifying till pipped by Mark Weber’s Red Bull on the final lap of the qualifying session.

Wow! Sebastian Vettel get his first pole!
Heikki follows in Second position.
Mark Webber with third and Bourdais along side.
Kimi will start in 14th and Lewis 15th.

Pos Driver        Team                     Q1         Q2         Q3     
 1. Vettel        Toro Rosso-Ferrari   1:35.464   1:35.837   1:37.555
 2. Kovalainen    McLaren-Mercedes     1:35.214   1:35.843   1:37.631
 3. Webber        Red Bull-Renault     1:36.001   1:36.306   1:38.117
 4. Bourdais      Toro Rosso-Ferrari   1:35.543   1:36.175   1:38.445
 5. Rosberg       Williams-Toyota      1:35.485   1:35.898   1:38.767
 6. Massa         Ferrari              1:35.536   1:36.676   1:38.894
 7. Trulli        Toyota               1:35.906   1:36.008   1:39.152
 8. Alonso        Renault              1:36.297   1:36.518   1:39.751
 9. Glock         Toyota               1:35.737   1:36.525   1:39.787
10. Heidfeld      BMW Sauber           1:35.709   1:36.626   1:39.906
11. Kubica        BMW Sauber           1:35.553   1:36.697
12. Fisichella    Force India-Ferrari  1:36.280   1:36.698
13. Coulthard     Red Bull-Renault     1:36.485   1:37.284
14. Raikkonen     Ferrari              1:35.965   1:37.522
15. Hamilton      McLaren-Mercedes     1:35.394   1:39.265
16. Barrichello   Honda                1:36.510
17. Piquet        Renault              1:36.630
18. Nakajima      Williams-Toyota      1:36.653
19. Button        Honda                1:37.006
20. Sutil         Force India-Ferrari  1:37.417