F1Weekly Podcast #308 (10-13-2008)

 Podcast # 308 is here.

Trophy Drive: Fernando Alonso is hombre of the Orient. The Spaniard was the surprise winner in Singapore, and on Sunday surprised a few by his cool and calculating win in the Japanese Grand Prix at Mt. Fuji circuit. More amazingly, the 10-points he earned have put him fourth on the all-time list with 538 points, behind Michael Schumacher, Alain Prost and Ayrton Senna. The Renault racer has yet to confirm his plans for 2009 season but back to back wins should motivate him to stay in the house that brought him two back to back championships.

Robert Kubica, Pride of Poland, was second after leading the race in early stages. He held-off a re-awakened Kimi Raikkonen who took the lead at the start but had to take evasive action after pole-sitter and championship leader Lewis Hamilton locked up his wheels and nearly collected Kimi and his own teammate Heikki Kovalainen.

On the second lap Lewis was forced into a spin by Felipe Massa’s Ferrari, both were given drive thru penalty, Massa for his part in Lewis’ spin and Hamilton for his over aggressive first corner antics. The McLaren driver failed to score a point while Massa picked up 2 points from his seventh place. Hamilton still holds a five point advantage going to the penultimate round of the season in Shangahi next Sunday.

Brazilian second generation driver Nelson Piquet was fourth and may have salvaged his seat at Renault for next season. Fifth was Italian Jarno Trulli for Toyota who also own the Mt. Fuji track.

Other motor racing news:

Jaime Alguersuari is the second coming of muy macho hombre de Espana. The 18-year old Red Bull backed driver won both rounds of the British Formula 3 championship at Donington Park to become the first Spaniard and youngest champion ever of the prestigious series.

Sebastien Loeb took his fourth consecutive victory in the Tour de Corse. The Citroen driver from the Alsace region of France is on his way to a record fifth consecutive WRC title.

The Bathurst 1000, Australia’s Indy 500, was won for the third straight year by Craig Lowndes and Jamie Whincup in a Ford Falcon.

Force India may be forced to take Paul di Resta as a driver if a reported deal with McLaren-Mercedes for engine supply and KERS system comes thru. 

Fernando Alonso wins the Japanese Grand Prix!
Kubica takes a strong second place.
Kimi with third and Piquet fourth!
Leob wins the Rallye de France Tour de Corse.

Bravo Bravo Bravo!!!

The Japanese Grand Prix
Mount Fuji, Japan;
67 laps; 305.416km;
Weather: Cloudy, dry.


Pos  Driver        Team                      Time
1.  Alonso        Renault               (B)  1h30:21.892
2.  Kubica        BMW Sauber            (B)  +     5.283
3.  Raikkonen     Ferrari               (B)  +     6.400
4.  Piquet        Renault               (B)  +    20.570
5.  Trulli        Toyota                (B)  +    23.767
6.  Bourdais      Toro Rosso-Ferrari    (B)  +    34.085
7.  Vettel        Toro Rosso-Ferrari    (B)  +    39.207
8.  Massa         Ferrari               (B)  +    46.158
9.  Webber        Red Bull-Renault      (B)  +    50.811
10.  Heidfeld      BMW Sauber            (B)  +    54.120
11.  Rosberg       Williams-Toyota       (B)  +  1:02.096
12.  Hamilton      McLaren-Mercedes      (B)  +  1:18.900
13.  Barrichello   Honda                 (B)  +     1 lap
14.  Button        Honda                 (B)  +     1 lap
15.  Nakajima      Williams-Toyota       (B)  +     1 lap

Fastest lap: Massa, 1:18.426

Not classified/retirements:

Driver        Team                      On lap
Fisichella    Force India-Ferrari   (B)    22
Kovalainen    McLaren-Mercedes      (B)    17
Sutil         Force India-Ferrari   (B)    9
Glock         Toyota                (B)    7
Coulthard     Red Bull-Renault      (B)    1

World Championship standings, round 16:               

Drivers:                    Constructors:            
1.  Hamilton      84        1.  Ferrari               141
2.  Massa         79        2.  McLaren-Mercedes      135
3.  Kubica        72        3.  BMW Sauber            128
4.  Raikkonen     63      4.  Renault                66
5.  Heidfeld      56         5.  Toyota                 50
6.  Kovalainen    51       6.  Toro Rosso-Ferrari     36
7.  Alonso        48         7.  Red Bull-Renault       28
8.  Trulli        30            8.  Williams-Toyota        26
9.  Vettel        29           9.  Honda                  14
10.  Glock         20      
11.  Webber        20      
12.  Piquet        18      
13.  Rosberg       17      
14.  Barrichello   11      
15.  Nakajima       9      
16.  Coulthard      8      
17.  Bourdais       7      
18.  Button         3