F1Weekly Podcast #313 (11-03-2008)

  Podcast 313

A Late Lambada for Lewis: Sunday’s Brazilian Grand Prix will go down in history as one of the most dramatic and emotionally charged championship decider. A quick burst of shower as the cars were on the grid faded away for a dry race, only to re-appear with five laps remaining. Felipe Massa, darling of the crowd and Ferrari’s pole-sitter, dominated all day and retained his lead after changing to intermediate tires.

Lewis Hamilton, hoping history not to repeat itself, drove a cautious and smart race to stay in the top five which was all he needed to take the title. Then came the wet-wonder Vettel, the youngest Grand Prix winner from Monza, and charged past the McLaren driver with only two laps remaining for fifth. The title was Massa’s if Hamilton crossed the line in sixth. As Massa took the checkered flag to win his home race for the second time in three years, the crowd went wild and there were celebrations in the Ferrari pits. Lost in this rapture was the fact Lewis had grabbed championship glory from the jaws of defeat by passing Timo Glock’s Toyota to take fifth in the run up to the last corner of the last lap.

Lewis Hamilton is now the youngest, first British since Damon Hill in 1996 and first McLaren driver since 1999 to become world champion. History, instead of repeating has now reversed itself. Last year Lewis came into this race with a similar seven point advantage only to lose the championship to a Ferrari driver by single point. Sunday he reigned supreme by a single point over another Ferrari driver.

Massa finished second in the championship with more wins than any other driver. His six victories compared to two for outgoing champion and teammate Kimi Raikkonen speaks volume for his tenacity and maturity. He was gracious in defeat in the press conference and congratulated his challenger on becoming the world champion.


Podcast # 313

Lewis Hamilton takes the WDC on the last lap!…Wow!
Felipe hart broken wins the Grand Prix de Brasile.
Fernando finishes second and Kimi third.
Ferrari wins their 16th world constructors championship.
Sebastien Loeb has become the first five-time WRC.

Pos  Driver        Team                      Time
1.  Massa         Ferrari               (B)  1h34:11:435
2.  Alonso        Renault               (B)  +    13.298
3.  Raikkonen     Ferrari               (B)  +    16.235
4.  Vettel        Toro Rosso-Ferrari    (B)  +    38.011
5.  Hamilton      McLaren-Mercedes      (B)  +    38.907
6.  Glock         Toyota                (B)  +    44.368
7.  Kovalainen    McLaren-Mercedes      (B)  +    55.074
8.  Trulli        Toyota                (B)  +  1:08.433
9.  Webber        Red Bull-Renault      (B)  +  1:19.666
10.  Heidfeld      BMW Sauber            (B)  +     1 lap
11.  Kubica        BMW Sauber            (B)  +     1 lap
12.  Rosberg       Williams-Toyota       (B)  +     1 lap
13.  Button        Honda                 (B)  +     1 lap
14.  Bourdais      Toro Rosso-Ferrari    (B)  +     1 lap
15.  Barrichello   Honda                 (B)  +     1 lap
16.  Sutil         Force India-Ferrari   (B)  +    2 laps
17.  Nakajima      Williams-Toyota       (B)  +    2 laps
18.  Fisichella    Force India-Ferrari   (B)  +    2 laps