F1weekly podcast # 340

 Shanghai Showers


Double the pleasure: Last year at Monza German driver Sebastian Vettel became the youngest Grand Prix winner when he scored his and Toro Rosso’s maiden win in the rain. On Sunday he repeated the feat for sister team Red Bull, leading his Australian teammate Mark Webber to a one-two finish in the Chinese Grand Prix.


Dentso: The Trulli train was derailed by Robert Kubica, the Polish driver ran his BMW-Sauber into the back of Italian driver’s Toyota in Sunday’s round three in Shanghai. The race went the full distance in wet conditions and the F1 circuit now moves to the sands of Arabia for the Bahrain Grand Prix next Sunday.


Misery loves company: Defending world champion Lewis Hamilton and the man he dethroned, Kimi Raikkonen, continue to struggle. More dark clouds hang over McLaren team as the British team awaits FIA’s ruling on the lie-gate. Ferrari has not scored a single point after three races.


London fog: Jenson Button now has three podium finishes from three races in the 2009 season. After back to back dominating wins in Australia and Malaysia, the English driver had to soak up and settle for third place behind the Red Bull drivers. He leads the championship from his teammate Rubens Barrichello who finished fourth.

 All photos Associated Press.

Red Bull’s first win.


Sebastian Vettel gives Red Bull Renault their First Grand Prix Win.

Mark Webber with his best career finish taking second.

Jenson Button settles for a strong third place for Brawn GP.

Red Bull Renault prove double deck diffuser not necessary.

Ferrari fails to score points their worst season since 1982.


Pos Driver Team Time
1. Vettel Red Bull-Renault (B) 1h57:43.485
2. Webber Red Bull-Renault (B) + 10.970
3. Button Brawn GP-Mercedes (B) + 44.975
4. Barrichello Brawn GP-Mercedes (B) + 1:03.704
5. Kovalainen McLaren-Mercedes (B) + 1:05.102
6. Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes (B) + 1:11.866
7. Glock Toyota (B) + 1:14.476
8. Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari (B) + 1:16.439
9. Alonso Renault (B) + 1:24.309
10. Heidfeld BMW Sauber (B) + 1:31.750
11. Bourdais Toro Rosso-Ferrari (B) + 1:34.156
12. Raikkonen Ferrari (B) + 1:35.834
13. Kubica BMW Sauber (B) + 1:46.853
14. Fisichella Force India-Mercedes (B) + 1 lap
15. Rosberg Williams-Toyota (B) + 1 lap
16. Piquet Renault (B) + 2 laps

Fastest lap: Barrichello, 1:52.592