Button on top



Le Mans. Loneliness of long distance runner. The Le Mans 24-hour race is one of the greatest racing events. Legends of motorsport have raced in this classic event, from Nuvolari and Fangio to Ickx and Kristensen.

The Bentley boys, Ford GT40, blue Matra, turbo Renault, Porsche 917 and in recent years turbo-diesel Audi have all made their marks at Le Mans.

Dane Tom Kristensen is the most successful driver and local Henri Pescarolo won the race three times in a row for Matra. American winners include the late Phill Hill, Dan Gurney and AJ Foyt among others.

F1weekly will have a reporter on the scene at Mulsanne to cover this event in June.



Bottoms up! Champagne was Mumm and so was the competition after Sunday’s dominating performance by Sebastian Vettel. The German wunderkind gave Adrian Newey-designed Red Bull car their first Grand Prix victory since the Austrian billionaire, Dietrich Mateschitz, bought the former Jaguar F1 team.

Last September at Monza, in a similar command performance and also in the wet, Vettel scored his first Grand Prix victory which was also the maiden win for Red Bull sister team Toro Rosso.

Jenson Button still leads the championship from his Brawn teammate Rubens Barrichello.
The Mercedes-powered cars finished third and fourth in Shanghai with Button on the podium for the third time in three races so far this season.

Lewis Hamilton and Felipe Massa have now joined Kimi Raikkonen in the ‘where are they now’ club. Both Ferrari drivers have yet to open their score in this year’s championship.

Hamilton finished on the podium in the season opener in Australia. His own words came back like a boomerang to haunt him and he was booted from the results.

The show moves to the sands of Arabia in Bahrain this weekend.


Bridgestone planning to introduce narrower and lower profile front tyre.

Tost is surprised by rookie Sebastien Buemi’s early-season form.

David Coulthard believes Ferrari needs Fernando Alonso more than ever.

Racing car manufacturer Lola is considering re-entering Formula 1 in 2010.