lewis IN aBU dHABI

Lewis of Arabia: Shining bright and dominating all three qualifying sessions at the new ultra-modern Yas Marina circuit, Lewis Hamilton captured pole position for the final F1 race of the season, the inaugural Etihad Abu Dhabi Grand Prix. This is McLaren driver’s fourth pole position in last seven races, and 17th in just three years of competition at the top tier of motor racing.

Mark Webber, winner of last race in Brazil, will start third behind his Red Bull teammate Sebastian Vettel. The Brawn boys are fourth and fifth on the grid, Rubens Barrichello out qualifying newly crowned world champion Jenson Button.

Kimi Raikkonen will start 11th in his final race for Ferrari. Fernando Alonso, who will replace Raikkonen at Ferrari next year, did not make it out of Q1 in his final fling with Renault.

Senna name returns to F1: Bruno Senna, nephew of the late Ayrton Senna, has been confirmed at Campos Meta F1 team for 2010.

American in GP2: Yas Marina hosted the opening round of the 2009/10 GP2 Asia series. Saturday’s feature race saw the debut of 18-year old California driver Alexander Rossi who finished an impressive fourth. Race was won by Davide Valsecchi of Italy.

Formula 2: Andy Soucek of Spain won the penultimate race of the season at Circuit de Cataluña in Barcelona.

Pos  Driver       Team                       Q1        Q2       Q3
 1.  Hamilton     McLaren-Mercedes      (B)  1:39.873  1:39.695 1:40.948
 2.  Vettel       Red Bull-Renault      (B)  1:40.666  1:39.984 1:41.615
 3.  Webber       Red Bull-Renault      (B)  1:40.667  1:40.272 1:41.726
 4.  Barrichello  Brawn-Mercedes        (B)  1:40.574  1:40.421 1:41.786
 5.  Button       Brawn-Mercedes        (B)  1:40.378  1:40.148 1:41.892
 6.  Trulli       Toyota                (B)  1:40.517  1:40.373 1:41.897
 7.  Kubica       BMW-Sauber            (B)  1:40.520  1:40.545 1:41.992
 8.  Heidfeld     BMW-Sauber            (B)  1:40.558  1:40.635 1:42.343
 9.  Rosberg      Williams-Toyota       (B)  1:40.842  1:40.661 1:42.583
10.  Buemi        Toro Rosso-Ferrari    (B)  1:40.908  1:40.430 1:42.713
11.  Raikkonen    Ferrari               (B)  1:41.100  1:40.726
12.  Kobayashi    Toyota                (B)  1:41.035  1:40.777
13.  Kovalainen   McLaren-Mercedes      (B)  1:40.808  1:40.983
14.  Nakajima     Williams-Toyota       (B)  1:41.096  1:41.148
15.  Alguersuari  Toro Rosso-Ferrari    (B)  1:41.503  1:41.689
16.  Alonso       Renault               (B)  1:41.667
17.  Liuzzi       Force India-Mercedes  (B)  1:41.701
18.  Sutil        Force India-Mercedes  (B)  1:41.863
19.  Grosjean     Renault               (B)  1:41.950
20.  Fisichella   Ferrari               (B)  1:42.184