Sebastian Vettel takes victory in Japan from pole.

Mark Webber still leads the Championship with P2

Fernando Alonso unchallenged finishes third.

Button and Hamilton settle for fourth and fifth place.

Sebastian VETTEL: Yeah, incredible day this morning with qualifying and with the pole position and this afternoon we just continued. So fantastic. It was down to the team. They have been working very hard, most of the guys they didn’t sleep the Thursday until the Saturday, so it was good there was no qualifying as they didn’t have to touch the car and got some sleep. I think they deserve it today. Obviously this track is like it is drawn for us. With all the high speed corners it is always a pleasure and with the car getting lighter and lighter in the end it is just more and more fun. Yeah, incredible. Good start which was the key, from the clean side, and I could see Robert (Kubica) got a bit of momentum but the way down to turn one was too short for him. Then with the safety car which stayed out quite long with the incident with Kubica but then after that both of us were able to pull away from the field and then just controlling the pace until the end. There was a little bit of a rest behind Jenson (Button) as we couldn’t really go through him, so we had to wait until he pits. But after that, just incredible. So really, really happy and it is about time.

The Japanese Grand Prix
Suzuka, Japan;
53 laps; 307.573km;
Weather: Sunny.


Pos  Driver        Team                       Time
 1.  Vettel        Red Bull-Renault           1h30:27.323
 2.  Webber        Red Bull-Renault           +     0.905
 3.  Alonso        Ferrari                    +     2.721
 4.  Button        McLaren-Mercedes           +    13.522
 5.  Hamilton      McLaren-Mercedes           +    39.595
 6.  Schumacher    Mercedes                   +    59.933
 7.  Kobayashi     Sauber-Ferrari             +  1:04:038
 8.  Heidfeld      Sauber-Ferrari             +  1:09.648
 9.  Barrichello   Williams-Cosworth          +  1:10.846
10.  Buemi         Toro Rosso-Ferrari         +  1:12.806
11.  Alguersuari   Toro Rosso-Ferrari         +     1 lap
12.  Kovalainen    Lotus-Cosworth             +     1 lap
13.  Trulli        Lotus-Cosworth             +    2 laps
14.  Glock         Virgin-Cosworth            +    2 laps
15.  Senna         HRT-Cosworth               +    2 laps
16.  Yamamoto                                 +    3 laps
17.  Rosberg       Mercedes                   +    5 laps

Fastest lap: Webber, 1:33.474