Formula 1

Lewis Hamilton China Pole 2013


It was a close Q3 with Sebastian Vettel holding on to the lead most of the time but in the end Lewis Hamilton took pole position with a time of 1m 29.398s, while Vettel had to settle for second place as he was 0.103s slower. His teammate Mark Webber will be starting the German Grand Prix from third place, ahead of the Renaults with Kimi Raikkonen on fourth and Romain Grosjean grabbing fifth.

Daniel Ricciardo (Toro Rosso) had a satisfying qualification session since he acquired sixth place, managing to be faster than the disappointing Ferraris which will be starting from seventh (Felipe Massa) and eight (Fernando Alonso). Jenson Button and Nico Hulkenberg didn’t have a timed lap in Q3 so they will be beginning tomorrow’s race from ninth and tenth place.

Although everyone was expecting for him to repeat recent qualification performances, Nico Rosberg failed to qualify for Q3 so he will be starting from eleventh place

Pos Driver                Team                 Time       Gap       
 1.  Lewis Hamilton       Mercedes             1m29.398s
 2.  Sebastian Vettel     Red Bull-Renault     1m29.501s  +0.103s
 3.  Mark Webber          Red Bull-Renault     1m29.608s  +0.210s
 4.  Kimi Raikkonen       Lotus-Renault        1m29.892s  +0.494s
 5.  Romain Grosjean      Lotus-Renault        1m29.959s  +0.561s
 6.  Daniel Ricciardo     Toro Rosso-Ferrari   1m30.528s  +1.130s
 7.  Felipe Massa         Ferrari              1m31.126s  +1.728s
 8.  Fernando Alonso      Ferrari              1m31.209s  +1.811s
 9.  Jenson Button        McLaren-Mercedes     No time set
10.  Nico Hulkenberg      Sauber-Ferrari       No time set
Q2 cut-off time: 1m30.269s                             Gap ** 
11.  Nico Rosberg         Mercedes              1m30.326s  +0.501s
12.  Paul di Resta        Force India-Mercedes  1m30.697s  +0.872s
13.  Sergio Perez         McLaren-Mercedes      1m30.933s  +1.108s
14.  Esteban Gutierrez    Sauber-Ferrari        1m31.010s  +1.185s
15.  Adrian Sutil         Force India-Mercedes  1m31.010s  +1.185s
16.  Jean-Eric Vergne     Toro Rosso-Ferrari    1m31.104s  +1.279s
Q1 cut-off time: 1m31.681s                              Gap * 
17.  Valtteri Bottas      Williams-Renault      1m31.693s  +1.146s
18.  Pastor Maldonado     Williams-Renault      1m31.707s  +1.160s
19.  Charles Pic          Caterham-Renault      1m32.937s  +2.390s
20.  Jules Bianchi        Marussia-Cosworth     1m33.063s  +2.516s
21.  Giedo van der Garde  Caterham-Renault      1m33.734s  +3.187s
22.  Max Chilton          Marussia-Cosworth     1m34.098s  +3.551s