le mans


The 82nd edition met all expectations: for Audi and the trio Marcel Fässler-André Lotterer-Benoît Tréluyer, victory didn’t come into view until late Sunday morning, against Toyota and Porsche.

After 2011 and 2012, the German, Swiss and French drivers won together for the third time. They were ahead of the sister car of Di Grassi-Kristensen-Gené and the No. 8 Toyota TS040 Hybrid of Davidson-Lapierre-Buemi, pushed to the back of the ranking after its incident in the rain shower at the beginning of the race.

In the LM P2 class, the Ligier JS P2 was very impressive in its first race. The French Thiriet by TDS Racing team’s, driven by Ludovic Badey-Pierre Thiriet-Tristan Gommendy, didn’t play out until the very end of the race, with a gap of barely 20 seconds, against the No. 38 Zytek of Harry Tincknell-Oliver Turvey-Simon Dolan (Jota Sport), which finished first in the class and fifth overall. The Alpine A450B of Nelson Panciatici-Oliver Webb-Paul Loup Chatain rounded out the podium.

As to the GTs, two road legends shared the honors: Ferrari in LM GTE Pro, thanks to Gianmaria Bruni-Giancarlo Fisichella-Toni Vilander (No. 51 458 Italia, AF Corse), and Aston Martin in LM GTE Am, with at the wheel David Heinemeier Hansson-Kristian Poulsen-Nicki Thiim (No. 95 Vantage, Aston Martin Racing).