Event: 08 Nürburgring
Session: Race 1
Track: Nürburgring sprint circuit / D
Pole position: Robert Shvartzman (PREMA Theodore Racing)
Race winner: Mick Schumacher (PREMA Theodore Racing)
Weather: sunny, slightly cloudy, 13.9 °C

At the 3.629 kilometres long Nürburgring sprint circuit, Mick Schumacher (PREMA Theodore Racing) scored his fourth race win of the FIA Formula 3 European Championship season. The best-placed rookie driver Robert Shvartzman (PREMA Theodore Racing) and Daniel Ticktum took the chequered flag in second and third place respectively. Thus, Ticktum remains in the lead of the drivers’ standings from Schumacher, who moved up into second place.

4 Mick Schumacher (DEU, PREMA Theodore Racing, Dallara F317 – Mercedes-Benz), 10 Robert Shvartzman (RUS, PREMA Theodore Racing, Dallara F317 – Mercedes-Benz), FIA Formula 3 European Championship, round 8, race 1, Nürburgring (DEU), 7. – 9. September 2018

A few metres after the start, Mick Schumacher already pipped pole-sitter Robert Shvartzman. A little bit further down the field, Jehan Daruvala (Carlin) locked up under braking and slid into Alex Palou’s car (Hitech Bullfrog GP), after which the safety car was deployed. Marino Sato (Motopark), Fabio Scherer (Motopark) and Jüri Vips (Motopark) also retired due to the accident on the opening lap, after which the safety car was deployed.

At the restart, Schumacher remained in front while Shvartzman had to defend his position from a charging Ralf Aron (PREMA Theodore Racing). The Russian successfully held on to his second place. Meanwhile, Sophia Flörsch (Van Amersfoort Racing), who was in eighth place behind the safety car, parked her car with a technical failure a few metres after the restart. On lap nine, Daniel Ticktum and Enaam Ahmed (Hitech Bullfrog GP) overtook Aron for third. Artem Petrov (Van Amersfoort Racing) lost his sixth place as he was called into the pits for a drive-through penalty for a jump start.

The final minutes of the race then saw Schumacher, Shvartzman and Ticktum bunch up again. However, there were no position changes until they crossed the finish line, so Schumacher claimed victory from Shvartzman and Ticktum. Ahmed, Aron, Marcus Armstrong (PREMA Theodore Racing), Guanyu Zhou (PREMA Theodore Racing), Ben Hingeley (Hitech Bullfrog GP), Jonathan Aberdein (Motopark) and Keyvan Soori Andres (Van Amersfoort Racing) rounded out the top ten.

Mick Schumacher (PREMA Theodore Racing): “My start was good and I managed to move up into the lead fairly quickly. Then, I tried to save my tyres as well as I could. Of course, I am very happy with this victory and with the 25 points that get me up into second place of the drivers’ standings.”