Tag Archives: Alan Jones

2013 Formula 1 Calendar

        “Faded Glory” – A tribute to Grand Prix teams gone from the grid

Jackie Stewart graces the cover of latest offering from Saison 73. From Alfa Alfa Romeo to Brabham to Cooper and Vanwall.

Alfa Romeo won the first Formula 1 World Championship in 1950 with Dr. Nino Farina.

Bernie Ecclestone-owned Brabham team was the first turbo-powered world championship winning team with Nelson Piquet.

Cooper and Stirling Moss changed the face of grand prix racing by placing the engine at the rear.

Shadow was an American operation from the days of Can-Am, and gave the Australian Alan Jones his first F1 victory in Austria.

Take a trip down F1 memory lane all year long. Please visit our merchandise page to order this piece of Formula 1 motor racing history.

Thank you for your support and Happy Holidays!

Motorsports Mondial

And now a Moment in History as we look at the 80s from the 60th Anniversary edition of Autosport magazine – courtesy of Dr M Farrington who recently celebrated his 30th birthday. Happy Birthday Doc. See you soon.

Alan Jones is the first world champion for Williams and Lone Star JR, Johnny Rutherford win the Indy 500 in a Chapparal – this was the highlight of the 1980 season.

1981 saw first world championship for Nelson Piquet and first victory for Audi Qauttro in Sweden. It also saw the seventh and final win for the King, Richard Petty, in the Daytona 500.

1982 Nico Rosberg’s dad Keke wins the world championship with only 1 grand prix win for Williams. Sixth and final Le Mans win for Jacky Ickx. Tragedy of the season was at Zolder in practice for the Belgian GP when Gilles Villeneuve was killed. Later in the Canadian GP Italian Riccardo Paletti was killed when his Osella crashed and caught fire after hitting the stationary car of pole sitter Didier Pironi. And I think we all know what happened to Pironi at Hockenheim.

Mario Andretti started the 1982 Italian GP from pole position in his Ferrari 126C2 and moi was there to see him finish on the podium in third.

1983 Yellow helmet wins Macau Grand Prix. Piquet is the first turbo charged world champion with Brabham BMW.

1984 Mike Thackwel from New Zealand, one of the mysteries of Formula 1, wins the final Formula 2 championship.

1985 Alain Prost becomes the first French world champion. And our Nige takes his first F1 victory in the European GP at Brands Hatch.

1986 Tar fire for Mansell in season finale gives back to back title to Prost.  Austrian Jo Gartner killed at Le Mans and Finnish Rally start Henri Toivonen and his co-driver from New York Sergio Cresto were killed in the crash of their Lancia Delta in the Corsica Rally. Earlier in the year they had won the Monte Carlo Rally.

1987 Nelson Piquet, that man from Rio, wins his third and final world championship in a Williams Honda.

1988 Ayrton Senna from Sao Paulo wins the first of his three championships in a McLaren Honda. Jaguar wins at Le Mans and future BBC and ITV commentator Martin Brundle wins the world sportscar championship.

1989  Prost is F1 Champion. No more turbos in F1. Peter Sauber and his Mercedes team were the big winners at Le mans. And David Coulthard wins the inaugural McLaren Autosport BRDC Award.

Nasir Hameed