Tag Archives: Clio

Motorsports Mondial


The second VOLANT is to be held by the EUROFORMULA School, based in La Châtre, south of Châteauroux. At the initiative of its director, Laurent Fradon, the driving school founded in the 70s under the name “AVIA School La Châtre” trains not just avid sportsmen year after year, but also young talent from the kart racing world aspiring to make a career in motorsport.

Last year, for its first “EUROFORMULA VOLANT”, the school welcomed forty students, and the finals, presided over by the 24 Hour Le Mans former champion, Jean Pierre Jaussaud, revealed the first winner to be: Paul Loup Chatin.

Just a few weeks before the first selections, the EUROFORMULA school invited a few journalists and young kart racing drivers to experience the typical day of a “EUROFORMULA VOLANT” contestant, alongside Nelson Panciatici, the first student of the Training and Competition Department , and Paul Loup Chatin, the winner of the “EUROFORMULA VOLANT” 2010.

The day started with the traditional briefing by Joel de Miguel, former driver, who raced in Formula Renault Europe with a certain Alain Prost!

Then onto the track for the ten lap sessions to master the very specific breaking of a single-seater first. This was followed by the study of trajectories on the lower circuit where the students kept going, lap after lap, until each one had met the expectations of the instructor.

After lunch, the students got back behind the wheel to study the upper circuit and once they had a good feel for the trajectories, they were let loose on the whole circuit.

The drivers then paced through the laps at speed and their mistakes were corrected live, before the ultimate series in race mode. At the end of the day, Joel de Miguel debriefed each driver to explain what they still need to improve, particularly those who intend to take part in the EUROFORMULA VOLANT.

The “EUROFORMULA VOLANT” 2011 selections take place from July to September in four two-day sessions, in groups of 8 to 12 drivers, with intensive training on the Formula Renault. In total, 8 to 12 drivers will take part this year in the semi-finals set for October 14 2011 on the La Châtre circuit.

The five qualifying contestants will then take part in the final which will be held on October 15 2011. The students will all have the same single-seater, fuel levels identical. This year, each contestant will have his own set of tyres to use as he sees fit. The winner will pocket € 60,000, including taxes, which he can put toward the discipline of his choice in agreement with EUROFORMULA.