Tag Archives: F3 Euro Series

Motorsports Mondial

Faces Going Places

Photo: Marleen Serne

Mortara Moment: Edoardo Mortara took victory in the F3 Euro Series race at Norisring on Saturday. The Italian driver started from pole position and scored his third victory of the season over Signature teammate and local talent Marco Wittman. Finn Valtteri Bottas, winner of the F3 Masters at Zandvoort last month, was third.

Bottas bounced back to claim his maiden F3 Euro Series victory in the second race of the weekend. Wittman was again runner-up and Mortara made his second appearance of the weekend on the podium in third. He now enjoys a 15-point lead, thanks to seven podium finishes in eight events, over teammate Wittman.

More Mortara: Edoardo Mortara is 23-years old and last year competed in the GP2 series with Christian Horner’s Arden International team. He was on the podium ahead of Nico Hulkenberg in his first ever GP2 event, the Bahrain round of the Asia series.

In the sprint race of the opening round of main GP2 series in Barcelona he triumphed over Romain Grosjean. Highlight of his 2009 season was his impressive victory in the prestigious Macau F3 Grand Prix.

– – Nasir Hameed

Ciao from Cali.

Motorsports Mondial

Mortara’s Mistral Moment.

The 2010 F3 Euro Series season got off to a fast start for Italian driver Edoardo Mortara, man who won the prestigious Macau Grand Prix last year. The VW-powered Signature driver started from row three, and was already behind pole-sitter and race leader Daniel Juncadella before the opening lap was over.

Mortara made his move on lap four to snatch the lead from the Spanish driver, and was able to stay in front despite coming under pressure late in the race from his German teammate Marco Wittmann.

British driver Alexander Sims sailed past Juncadella with three laps remaining to reach the podium in third place.

Finn Valtteri Bottas, now in his second season while al rving as Williams test driver, was given a drive through penalty for not lining up correctly on the starting grid.

The F3 Euro Series, result of marriage between the French and German F3 Championships, has seen rift in the family after the formation of GP3 Championship. Only 13 drivers are entered in the championship this year. Previous graduates include Lewis Hamilton, Sebastian Vettel and Nico Hulkenberg.

— Nasir Hameed

    Le Castellet regards.


F1weekly podcast # 392

Motorsports in Macau


The 56th. Macau Grand Prix takes place this weekend through the streets of Guia circuit. Sixteen of the twenty drivers from the 2009 F1 season have raced in this former Portuguese colony. Vettel, Kubica and Button are some of the drivers who made it to the podium in Macau.

Saturday’s qualifying race was won by French driver Jean Karl Vernay over pole sitter from Sweden Marcus Ericsson, who is managed by ex-Indy 500 winner Kenny Brack. Other major players fighting for end of season street glory are; Jules Bianchi, winner of this year’s F3 Euro Series. Valtteri Bottas from Finland and rookie of the year from the same series.

Daniel Ricciardo from Australian is hoping to end his 2009 season in style after success in the 2009 British F3 Championship.

Looking for a good finish and tea party is Jake Rosenzweig, the only American in the race from Boston.

Formula BMW Asia. Man to watch is the next Brazilian racing sensation, Felipe Nasr. He won the Formula BMW Europe championship this year in his rookie season.

WTCC.Main event of the weekend will see Alex Zanardi in action in his BMW.

For more information please visit: www.macau.grandprix.gov.mo

Edoardo Mortara takes the victory in the Macau Grand Prix.

Nico Rosberg is confirmed as the Stuttgart manufacturer returns to Formula 1 for the first time since 1955.

Podcast number 392 a special weekend edition.

Pos  Driver                Team            Car  Time/Gap
 1.  Edoardo Mortara       Signature       D/V  53m07.769s
 2.  Jean-Karl Vernay      Signature       D/V  + 1.146s
 3.  Sam Bird              ART             D/M  + 10.982s
 4.  Marcus Ericsson       TOM'S           D/T  + 14.988s
 5.  Valtteri Bottas       ART             D/M  + 19.188s
 6.  Takuto Iguchi         TOM'S           D/T  + 21.406s
 7.  Renger van der Zande  Double R        D/M  + 22.059s
 8.  Mika Maki             Hitech          D/V  + 29.005s
 9.  Yuji Kunimoto         Now             D/T  + 33.348s
10.  Jules Bianchi         ART             D/M  + 35.761s
11.  Victor Garcia         Fortec          D/M  + 46.923s
12.  Carlos Huertas        Manor           D/M  + 47.111s
13.  Laurens Vanthoor      Signature       D/V  + 48.036s
14.  Kouki Saga            La Beausset     D/T  + 54.965s
15.  Stef Dusseldorp       Kolles & Heinz  D/V  + 1m05.637s
16.  Henry Arundel         Carlin          D/V  + 1m10.699s
17.  Roberto Merhi         Manor           D/M  + 1 lap
18.  Alexander Sims        Double R        D/M  + 1 lap