Tag Archives: Vodafone

Liuzzi takes pole for sprint race.



A1GP: New strong man. Italian racer Vitantonio Liuzzi has claimed pole position for the sprint race on his debut in the World Cup of Motorsport. Team Italy is headed by ex-Grand Prix driver Piercarlo Ghinzani. Liuzzi is a former karting and Formula 3000 champion. Many claim his career at Red Bull was shafted by internal politics. His impressive pole at the equally impressive new Portimao circuit in Algarve, Portugal, demonstrates once again, no package no delivery.

Robert Doornbos will be hoping to deliver Dutch success from his front row position alongside Liuzzi. Bobby D, as he is known in America, grabbed pole position for the feature race.

Marco Andretti, driving for Team Papito, qualified 12th. for the sprint race and 8th. for the feature race.

NO LIVE STREAMING: Due to circumstances beyond their control A1GP is unable to provide live streaming for this race.

Sprint race grid:

Pos Driver Team Time Gap
1. Vitantonio Liuzzi Italy 1m30.875s
2. Robert Doornbos Netherlands 1m31.346s + 0.471s
3. Adam Carroll Ireland 1m31.600s + 0.725s
4. Daniel Morad Lebanon 1m31.756s + 0.881s
5. Filipe Albuquerque Portugal 1m31.777s + 0.902s
6. Earl Bamber New Zealand 1m32.006s + 1.131s
7. Andre Lotterer Germany 1m32.084s + 1.209s
8. Adrian Zaugg South Africa 1m32.301s + 1.426s
9. Narain Karthikeyan India 1m32.358s + 1.483s
10. Clivio Piccione Monaco 1m32.420s + 1.545s
11. Fairuz Fauzy Malaysia 1m32.929s + 2.054s
12. Marco Andretti USA 1m33.214s + 2.339s
13. Dan Clarke Great Britain 1m33.860s + 2.985s
14. Felipe Guimaraes Brazil 1m33.985s + 3.110s
15. Zahir Ali Indonesia 1m34.005s + 3.130s
16. Salvador Duran Mexico 1m34.216s + 3.341s
17. John Martin Australia 1m34.405s + 3.530s
18. Nicolas Prost France 1m36.567s + 5.692s
19. Ho-Pin Tung China 1m36.838s + 5.963s
20. Neel Jani Switzerland –

Feature race grid:

Pos Driver Team Time Gap
1. Robert Doornbos Netherlands 1m30.415s
2. Adam Carroll Ireland 1m30.696s + 0.281s
3. Neel Jani Switzerland 1m30.878s + 0.463s
4. Adrian Zaugg South Africa 1m30.984s + 0.569s
5. Felipe Guimaraes Brazil 1m31.023s + 0.608s
6. Fairuz Fauzy Malaysia 1m31.025s + 0.610s
7. Filipe Albuquerque Portugal 1m31.095s + 0.680s
8. Marco Andretti USA 1m31.459s + 1.044s
9. Clivio Piccione Monaco 1m31.495s + 1.080s
10. Vitantonio Liuzzi Italy 1m31.852s + 1.437s
11. Earl Bamber New Zealand 1m31.925s + 1.510s
12. John Martin Australia 1m31.939s + 1.524s
13. Salvador Duran Mexico 1m32.031s + 1.616s
14. Andre Lotterer Germany 1m32.269s + 1.854s
15. Daniel Morad Lebanon 1m32.352s + 1.937s
16. Dan Clarke Great Britain 1m32.400s + 1.985s
17. Narain Karthikeyan India 1m32.504s + 2.089s
18. Zahir Ali Indonesia 1m32.573s + 2.158s
19. Nicolas Prost France 1m32.941s + 2.526s
20. Ho-Pin Tung China 1m33.237s + 2.822s

Next weeks podcast number 339 will be a special edition F1weekly interview with the legendary Sir Stirling Moss!! Don’t miss it!

I’m sorry so sorry

driver-wantedDriver wanted: Lewis Hamilton and Vodafone Team McLaren are in hot water again with FIA. What started out as a simple passing maneuver behind the safety car in last Sunday’s season opener in Australia, has led to a 30-year McLaren team veteran being sent home, the team and driver massively embarrassed and facing possible further serious sanctions.

The World Champion driver passed the Toyota of Jarno Trulli when the Italian went off the road under yellow flag conditions. Hamilton was instructed to let Trulli pass and race by the book while they checked with Charlie Whiting. Based on who you believe, somewhere between Hamilton getting out of his car after the race and by the time he and Dave Ryan were summoned to the FIA stewards, a plan was cooked to dip Jarno Trulli into fourth place by claiming he passed the English driver under a yellow. The stewards were simmering when evidence emerged that Hamilton was instructed to let the car ahead be Toyota, fact which both he and Ryan denied to the stewards. Their goose is now cooked.

Hamilton later apologized in a press conference saying, “I was instructed and misled by my team manager to withhold information, and that is what I did. I sincerely apologize to the stewards for wasting their time and for making them look silly. I am very, very sorry for the situation: for my team, for Dave because he has been a good member of the team for many years.”

It is hard to believe team which received a $100m fine from FIA and lost all constructors points only two seasons ago would take this risk, all for one single point in the very first race of the season.

Lewis Hamilton apologises to everyone! what was McLaren thinking?

Ferrari one two in second practice with kimi in charge.

Five place gear box grid penalty for Rubens Barrichello.

Final practice times.

Pos Driver Team Time Laps
1. Rosberg Williams-Toyota (B) 1:35.940 19
2. Webber Red Bull-Renault (B) 1:36.048 + 0.108 13
3. Massa Ferrari (B) 1:36.089 + 0.149 13
4. Trulli Toyota (B) 1:36.132 + 0.192 21
5. Glock Toyota (B) 1:36.189 + 0.249 22
6. Vettel Red Bull-Renault (B) 1:36.194 + 0.254 14
7. Raikkonen Ferrari (B) 1:36.322 + 0.382 14
8. Nakajima Williams-Toyota (B) 1:36.325 + 0.385 18
9. Barrichello Brawn-Mercedes (B) 1:36.519 + 0.579 19
10. Button Brawn-Mercedes (B) 1:36.541 + 0.601 17
11. Kubica BMW-Sauber (B) 1:36.563 + 0.623 18
12. Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes (B) 1:36.657 + 0.717 15
13. Kovalainen McLaren-Mercedes (B) 1:36.742 + 0.802 13
14. Alonso Renault (B) 1:37.004 + 1.064 16
15. Heidfeld BMW-Sauber (B) 1:37.026 + 1.086 18
16. Piquet Renault (B) 1:37.032 + 1.092 18
17. Sutil Force India-Mercedes (B) 1:37.118 + 1.178 18
18. Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari (B) 1:37.282 + 1.342 17
19. Bourdais Toro Rosso-Ferrari (B) 1:37.322 + 1.382 16
20. Fisichella Force India-Mercedes (B) 1:37.398 + 1.458 19