F1Weekly Podcast #296 (08-03-2008)



Heikki High: Sunday’s Hungarian Grand Prix belonged to Ferrari’s Felipe Massa but victory went to Finland’s Heikki Kovalainen in his McLaren, who becomes the 100th. driver to win a Formula 1 race. The Brazilian shot into the lead from the second row at the start and never looked back, till a rare engine failure three laps from the end robbed him of a certain win and lead in the world championship.
The pole-sitting McLaren of Lewis Hamilton suffered a puncture taking last year’s winner out of contention. He fought back to finish fifth and retain his championship lead. German Timo Glock enjoyed ‘oh, what a felling’ as he made his first podium appearance by finishing second in his Toyota.
Kimi Raikkonen, hungry for a win since April’s Spanish Grand Prix, was third and is now only five points behind Hamilton in the championship. Massa is still a serious title contender as he trails his teammate by only three points. In the constructors’ championship Ferrari is 11 points ahead of McLaren.
Round 12 of 18 is the European Grand Prix on the new street circuit in Valencia, Spain, on August 24th. 

Podcast # 296

Heikki gets his first victory!!
A great second place for Timo and Toyota.
Kimi holds on to third place.
Great start for Massa but engine failure did him in.

Pos  Driver        Team                      Time
1.  Kovalainen    McLaren-Mercedes      (B)  1h37:27.067
2.  Glock         Toyota                (B)  +    11.061
3.  Raikkonen     Ferrari               (B)  +    16.856
4.  Alonso        Renault               (B)  +    21.614
5.  Hamilton      McLaren-Mercedes      (B)  +    23.048
6.  Piquet        Renault               (B)  +    32.298
7.  Trulli        Toyota                (B)  +    36.449
8.  Kubica        BMW Sauber            (B)  +    48.321
9.  Webber        Red Bull-Renault      (B)  +    58.834
10.  Heidfeld      BMW Sauber            (B)  +  1:07.709
11.  Coulthard     Red Bull-Renault      (B)  +  1:10.407
12.  Button        Honda                 (B)  +     1 lap
13.  Nakajima      Williams-Toyota       (B)  +     1 lap
14.  Rosberg       Williams-Toyota       (B)  +     1 lap
15.  Fisichella    Force India-Ferrari   (B)  +     1 lap
16.  Barrichello   Honda                 (B)  +    2 laps
17.  Bourdais      Toro Rosso-Ferrari    (B)  +    3 laps
18.  Massa         Ferrari               (B)  +    3 laps

Fastest lap: Raikkonen, 1:21.195