Formula 1

Hamilton pole in Hungary 2013


Hamilton qualified fastest in Hungary with a remarkable final lap which even took him by surprise. He said over the radio: “Is that pole? Woohoo!”

Hamilton was top of the early Q3 timesheets with a 1m 20.324s, until Sebastian Vettel slammed in a super-quick 1m 19.506s for provisional pole position on a new set of soft tyres.

Nico Rosberg was third for Mercedes after the first runs of Q3.

Hamilton, however, snatched pole with a stunning time of 1m 19.388s with his final hot lap and was taken aback when told over the team radio he had bagged P1. It’s his third straight pole after also starting from the front in the British and German GPs.

Vettel also claimed a front-row spot for Red Bull and Romain Grosjean qualified third for Lotus. Rosberg will start from the second row of the grid in fourth place in the second Mercedes after a time of 1m 19.720s in Q3.

Fernando Alonso was fifth for Ferrari ahead of Kimi Raikkonen’s Lotus. Felipe Massa, Daniel Ricciardo, Sergio Perez and Mark Webber completed the top 10 in the provisional qualifying results.

Rosberg had set the qualifying pace in Q2 with an exceptional lap of 1m 19.778s, with Mercedes team-mate Hamilton 0.084s behind in P2 with a time of 1m 19.862s on softs.

Vettel was third for Red Bull with a lap of 1m 19.992s, ahead of Grosjean, Alonso and Raikkonen.

Pos  Driver               Team                  Time      Gap       
 1.  Lewis Hamilton       Mercedes              1m19.388s
 2.  Sebastian Vettel     Red Bull-Renault      1m19.426s  +0.038s
 3.  Romain Grosjean      Lotus-Renault         1m19.595s  +0.207s
 4.  Nico Rosberg         Mercedes              1m19.720s  +0.332s
 5.  Fernando Alonso      Ferrari               1m19.791s  +0.403s
 6.  Kimi Raikkonen       Lotus-Renault         1m19.851s  +0.463s
 7.  Felipe Massa         Ferrari               1m19.929s  +0.541s
 8.  Daniel Ricciardo     Toro Rosso-Ferrari    1m20.641s  +1.253s
 9.  Sergio Perez         McLaren-Mercedes      1m22.398s  +3.010s
10.  Mark Webber          Red Bull-Renault             no time set
Q2 cut-off time: 1m20.545s                             Gap ** 
11.  Adrian Sutil         Force India-Mercedes  1m20.569s  +0.791s
12.  Nico Hulkenberg      Sauber-Ferrari        1m20.580s  +0.802s
13.  Jenson Button        McLaren-Mercedes      1m20.777s  +0.999s
14.  Jean-Eric Vergne     Toro Rosso-Ferrari    1m21.029s  +1.251s
15.  Pastor Maldonado     Williams-Renault      1m21.133s  +1.355s
16.  Valtteri Bottas      Williams-Renault      1m21.219s  +1.441s
Q1 cut-off time: 1m21.612s                              Gap * 
17.  Esteban Gutierrez    Sauber-Ferrari        1m21.724s  +1.374s
18.  Paul di Resta        Force India-Mercedes  1m22.043s  +1.693s
19.  Charles Pic          Caterham-Renault      1m23.007s  +2.657s
20.  Giedo van der Garde  Caterham-Renault      1m23.333s  +2.983s
21.  Jules Bianchi        Marussia-Cosworth     1m23.787s  +3.437s
22.  Max Chilton          Marussia-Cosworth     1m23.997s  +3.647s