Formula 1

Red Bull Formula One driver Vettel of Germany celebrates taking pole position for the British F1 Grand Prix at Silverstone


Red Bull completed a double podium, with Vettel winning ahead of Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso in second place and Mark Webber in third.

It was an easy win for Vettel from pole position, his third as Monza, and extends his FIA F1 2013 World Drivers’ Championship lead.

Behind the podium trio of race winner Vettel, runner-up Alonso and third-placed Webber came Felipe Massa in fourth for Ferrari.

Nico Hulkenberg took fifth place for Sauber with Mercedes ace Nico Rosberg sixth. Then came Daniel Ricciardo in the Toro Rosso and Lotus driver Romain Grosjean, with the top 10 completed by a fast finishing Hamilton and Jenson Button.

SEBASTIAN VETTEL: “It’s fantastic to win this event again. I just managed to make turn one! I locked the front right and it just didn’t seem to come back. I had a big flat spot, which I felt straight away and I wasn’t sure if the tyre would survive, but fortunately I managed to make it round and have a strong first stint. I pushed straight away to get a bit of a gap, in case we had to stop early and change to a two-stop strategy. We had a gearbox issue and I had to short shift, which meant we dropped some time in the straights – but I tried to make it up in the corners. It’s great to finish on the top step. The podium here is always very passionate. We are in Italy and when you walk around outside the track, you see Ferrari clothing and merchandise in all the shops starting from the smallest sizes upwards; it’s part of their DNA, which I understand. It was great for the Tifosi to have Fernando on the podium today. The season is going well and we’re pushing hard, but we take each race as it comes. We’re looking forward to Singapore next, which I want to finish; I think it’s the toughest race we have all year.”


The Italian Grand Prix
Monza, Italy;
53 laps; 306.720km;
Weather: Cloudy.


Pos  Driver        Team                       Time
 1.  Vettel         Red Bull-Renault           1h18m33.352
 2.  Alonso         Ferrari                    +       5.4
 3.  Webber         Red Bull-Renault           +       6.3
 4.  Massa          Ferrari                    +       9.3
 5.  Hulkenberg     Sauber-Ferrari             +      10.3
 6.  Rosberg        Mercedes                   +      10.9
 7.  Ricciardo      Toro Rosso-Ferrari         +      32.3
 8.  Grosjean       Lotus-Renault              +      33.1
 9.  Hamilton       Mercedes                   +      33.5
10.  Button         McLaren-Mercedes           +      38.3
11.  Raikkonen      Lotus-Renault              +      38.6
12.  Perez          McLaren-Mercedes           +      39.7
13.  Gutierrez      Sauber-Ferrari             +      40.8
14.  Maldonado      Williams-Renault           +      49.0
15.  Bottas         Williams-Renault           +      56.8
16.  Sutil          Force India-Mercedes       +     1 lap
17.  Perez          McLaren-Mercedes           +     1 lap
18.  van der Garde  Caterham-Renault           +     1 lap
19.  Bianchi        Marussia-Cosworth          +     1 lap
20.  Chilton        Marussia-Cosworth          +     1 lap

Fastest lap: Hamilton, 1:25.849

Not classified/retirements:

Driver        Team                         On lap
Vergne         Toro Rosso-Ferrari           35
Di Resta       Force India-Mercedes         1

World Championship standings, round 12:                

Drivers:                    Constructors:             
 1.  Vettel        222        1.  Red Bull-Renault          352
 2.  Alonso        169        2.  Ferrari                   248
 3.  Hamilton      141        3.  Mercedes                  245
 4.  Raikkonen     134        4.  Lotus-Renault             191
 5.  Webber        130        5.  McLaren-Mercedes           66
 6.  Rosberg       104        6.  Force India-Mercedes       61
 7.  Massa          79        7.  Toro Rosso-Ferrari         31
 8.  Grosjean       57        8.  Sauber-Ferrari             17
 9.  Button         48        9.  Williams-Renault            1
10.  Di Resta       36       
11.  Sutil          25       
12.  Perez          18       
13.  Ricciardo      18       
14.  Hulkenberg     17       
15.  Vergne         13       
16.  Maldonado       1