After a three-day on-track test at Almeria (southern Spain) last month, and a rigorous lap-time assessment and data-analysis programme thereafter, W Series has selected six new drivers to race alongside the 12 drivers who automatically qualified for the 2020 W Series championship as a result of having finished inside the top 12 in the 2019 W Series championship.

Driver Country Age Position in W Series Championship
Jamie Chadwick UK 21 1st
Beitske Visser Netherlands 24 2nd
Alice Powell UK 26 3rd
Marta Garcia Spain 19 4th
Emma Kimilainen Finland 30 5th
Fabienne Wohlwend Liechtenstein 21 6th
Miki Koyama Japan 21 7th
Sarah Moore UK 25 8th
Vicky Piria Italy 25 9th
Tasmin Pepper South Africa 29 10th
Jessica Hawkins UK 24 11th
Sabre Cook USA 24 12th
Ayla Agren Norway 25 New entrant
Abbie Eaton UK 27 New entrant
Belen Garcia Spain 20 New entrant
Nerea Marti Spain 17 New entrant
Irina Sidorkova Russia 16 New entrant
Bruna Tomaselli Brazil 21 New entrant

Catherine Bond Muir (Chief Executive Officer, W Series) said:

“Almost as soon as the sun had set on Brands Hatch, scene of the 2019 W Series championship finale, on Sunday August 11th, we at W Series began preparing for our 2020 season. More than 40 new drivers applied to race with us in 2020 and, after a three-day on-track test at Almeria [southern Spain] last month, and a rigorous lap-time and data-analysis programme thereafter, we’re now able to announce the first 18 of the 20 drivers who’ll compete in the 2020 W Series championship.

“It’s an impressive list, including the top 12 from our 2019 season, and six new drivers, who all performed well at Almeria. The result is a varied and international group, comprising 18 drivers from 12 countries, ranging in age from the super-experienced Finn, Emma Kimilainen, 30, to the very promising young Russian, Irina Sidorkova, 16.

“Our commiserations go to those whom we haven’t selected, but sadly their disappointment is simply an example of the jeopardy inherent in any athlete’s life at the higher levels of competitive sport. The more you can win, the more you can lose.”