F1weekly podcast # 392

Motorsports in Macau


The 56th. Macau Grand Prix takes place this weekend through the streets of Guia circuit. Sixteen of the twenty drivers from the 2009 F1 season have raced in this former Portuguese colony. Vettel, Kubica and Button are some of the drivers who made it to the podium in Macau.

Saturday’s qualifying race was won by French driver Jean Karl Vernay over pole sitter from Sweden Marcus Ericsson, who is managed by ex-Indy 500 winner Kenny Brack. Other major players fighting for end of season street glory are; Jules Bianchi, winner of this year’s F3 Euro Series. Valtteri Bottas from Finland and rookie of the year from the same series.

Daniel Ricciardo from Australian is hoping to end his 2009 season in style after success in the 2009 British F3 Championship.

Looking for a good finish and tea party is Jake Rosenzweig, the only American in the race from Boston.

Formula BMW Asia. Man to watch is the next Brazilian racing sensation, Felipe Nasr. He won the Formula BMW Europe championship this year in his rookie season.

WTCC.Main event of the weekend will see Alex Zanardi in action in his BMW.

For more information please visit: www.macau.grandprix.gov.mo

Edoardo Mortara takes the victory in the Macau Grand Prix.

Nico Rosberg is confirmed as the Stuttgart manufacturer returns to Formula 1 for the first time since 1955.

Podcast number 392 a special weekend edition.

Pos  Driver                Team            Car  Time/Gap
 1.  Edoardo Mortara       Signature       D/V  53m07.769s
 2.  Jean-Karl Vernay      Signature       D/V  + 1.146s
 3.  Sam Bird              ART             D/M  + 10.982s
 4.  Marcus Ericsson       TOM'S           D/T  + 14.988s
 5.  Valtteri Bottas       ART             D/M  + 19.188s
 6.  Takuto Iguchi         TOM'S           D/T  + 21.406s
 7.  Renger van der Zande  Double R        D/M  + 22.059s
 8.  Mika Maki             Hitech          D/V  + 29.005s
 9.  Yuji Kunimoto         Now             D/T  + 33.348s
10.  Jules Bianchi         ART             D/M  + 35.761s
11.  Victor Garcia         Fortec          D/M  + 46.923s
12.  Carlos Huertas        Manor           D/M  + 47.111s
13.  Laurens Vanthoor      Signature       D/V  + 48.036s
14.  Kouki Saga            La Beausset     D/T  + 54.965s
15.  Stef Dusseldorp       Kolles & Heinz  D/V  + 1m05.637s
16.  Henry Arundel         Carlin          D/V  + 1m10.699s
17.  Roberto Merhi         Manor           D/M  + 1 lap
18.  Alexander Sims        Double R        D/M  + 1 lap