Tag Archives: Oreca



6 HOURS OF BAHRAIN (28 & 29 September 2012)


It is on the Bahrain International Circuit, in Sakhir, south of the capital Manama, that Nelson Panciatici takes part in the next challenge of the World Endurance Championship (WEC). Not making the podium, or possibly even winning in Sao Paulo, Nelson wants a victory to confirm the performance he produced in that race.

Silverstone ended with a superb podium and the G-DRIVE RACING BY SIGNATECH NISSAN team dominated free practice in Sao Paulo before Nelson Panciatici set the third best times in the qualifiers with his ORECA 03 NISSAN equipped with hard DUNLOP tyres. Their performance places them at the same level as the best teams in the highly competitive LMP2 class where Nelson Panciatici and his co-drivers, Pierre Ragues and Roman Rusinov, are among the favourites!

The ORECA 03 NISSAN #26 has all the focus of the team managed by Philippe Sinault, and Nelson Panciatici is ready to face the competition on the Bahraini circuit:

Nelson: “The level of performance we achieved in Sao Paulo has certainly given us more confidence for Bahrain and we really want to prove it with a victory! The whole team deserves it considering the amount of work that has been put in since the start of the season and I will do my utmost to make it happen. I don’t know the Bahrain circuit but I have watched a lot of videos. It looks technical but the practice plan we have should allow us to make our mark. I trust Damien, my engineer, to find the right technical solution that will give us a little bit of an edge. As usual, competition will be tough and we have to take each race as it comes because that’s the best way to get a good result!”

The whole G-DRIVE RACING BY SIGNATECH NISSAN team is in the same frame of mind and their boss, Philippe SINAULT, has his eye on victory before the end of the season:

“We were among the fastest on the track in Sao Paulo. The car had great performance, without the incident in the warm-up  we would definitely have had a podium if not better. We even set the fastest time in the race one hour before the end. Our objective now, and in view of the performance since Silverstone, is to get on the podium again and even get a victory before the end of the season.”

The battle for victory in the LMP2 class will be tightly fought out and the drivers of the G-DRIVE RACING BY SIGNATECH NISSAN team will most certainly be key players!

F1weekly podcast # 357


Podcast number 357 online.

This is a special Motorsports Mondial weekend edition.

Interviews with members of Team Oreca.

Oreca is a French racing team, founded and run by Hughes de Chaunac, former team manager of F1 team AGS. Oreca has had success in many areas of motorsport since the early 90s, running the works BMW operation in the French Supertouring Championship, winning the FIA GT Championship and the Le Mans 24 Hours in the GT2 class with a Chrysler Viper GTS-R and overall for Mazda 787B in 1991, on their second attempt and first after a decade; preparing the Renault Clio S1600 for rallying and winning the ice racing Andros Trophy with a Toyota Corolla driven by Alain Prost. More recently, Oreca have assisted Renault in building the new Megane V6 for the Renault Eurocup Megane Sport and fielding an Audi R8 in the 2005 Le Mans 24 Hours with support from Audi France. Also for 2006 Oreca will be running the Saleen S7R in the Le Mans Series. The Oreca Saleen S7R has already won the 2006 Spa-Francorchamps Le Mans race.

Oreca worked closely with Dodge on the new Dodge Viper Competition Coupe, producing well over 100 customer cars for the period 2006-2007 to GT3 specification.

Hughes de Chaunac has stated that Oreca could build and race their own Le Mans Prototype in 2009. However, on September 14, 2007, Oreca announced their intent to purchase French manufacturer Courage Compétition. Oreca will use Courage’s engineering expertise to develop their new prototype, to be badged as a Courage-Oreca.

F1weekly podcast # 338



Doornbos topped the A1GP free practice times for Team Netherlands.

Formula 1 drivers seeking to change Australia and Malaysia start times.

Lewis Hamilton and Dave Ryan continued to lie despite the evidence.

How long will Mercedes endure this McLaren fiasco?

Ralf Schumacher wants the FIA to drop lie-gate for the sake of F1.

Peugeot, Aston Martin and ORECA question the legality of the Audi R15.

Motorsports Mantra and Mondial with Nasir Hameed.

Special interviews with race drivers Frederick Vervish and Harry Tincknell.

Harry Tincknell: Born 29 October 1991 is a British Racing driver from Exeter, Devon.

After a successful career in karting where he was runner-up in the Rotax Max Euro Challenge, he competed in the British Formula Renault Championship Winter Series in 2008 and finished 7th. In 2009 he is racing in the main championship of the series with CRS Racing.

Frederic Vervish: is a 22 year old racing driver from Belgium. In his first ever race in America, he finished second in the Formula Atlantic season opener at Sebring, where this conversation took place. His credentials include winning the 24 hours karting of Francorchamps three times in four years. Last year he won the ATS German Formula 3 championship against some good competition, taking 7 wins and 10 podium finishes from 16 races. He also won the 2007-08 Asian F3b series with 11 wins and 17 podium finishes from 18 races. My thanks to Frederic and all the best to him in his racing career.

A1GP practice times:

Pos Driver Team Time
1. Robert Doornbos Netherlands 1:31.962
2. Earl Bamber New Zealand 1:32.030 + 0.068
3. Clivio Piccione Monaco 1:32.242 + 0.280
4. Vitantonio Liuzzi Italy 1:32.568 + 0.606
5. Filipe Albuquerque Portugal 1:32.570 + 0.608
6. Neel Jani Switzerland 1:32.635 + 0.673
7. Andre Lotterer Germany 1:32.762 + 0.800
8. Nicolas Prost France 1:32.894 + 0.932
9. Daniel Morad Lebanon 1:33.019 + 1.057
10. John Martin Australia 1:33.221 + 1.259
11. Adrian Zaugg South Africa 1:33.379 + 1.417
12. Narain Karthikeyan India 1:33.448 + 1.486
13. Marco Andretti USA 1:33.500 + 1.538
14. Adam Carroll Ireland 1:33.732 + 1.770
15. Fairuz Fauzy Malaysia 1:33.745 + 1.783
16. Ho-Pin Tung China 1:34.087 + 2.125
17. Zahir Ali Indonesia 1:35.064 + 3.102
18. Salvador Duran Mexico 1:56.253 + 24.291
19. Felipe Guimaraes Brazil no time
20. Dan Clarke Great Britain no time